From Storyboards To Film

I don’t follow who’s who in Hollywood, so I usually don’t know the names of current actors unless they’ve been around long enough to become household names. So when we took the kids to the drive-in last night to see Jurassic World, I had no idea who the lead actress, Bryce Dallas Howard, was.Bryce Dallas HowardThe thing is, I knew I saw her before and it struck me that she reminded me of an actress who starred in a film short I had storyboarded in 2009 for Ten Cent Adventures called “Despair” (2010), directed by photographer, Alex Prager.

Bryce Dallas Howard_Despair_phoneWhen I got home, I looked Bryce Dallas Howard up on IMDB and it turned out that she indeed was that same actress.

That made me think that I never thought to share those boards here in the past, so I thought I’d share the storyboards HERE and the video so you can compare how close the film-short kept to the boards. Keep in mind, as always, that storyboards are not meant for public consumption, so forgive their raw nature. They’re only meant to establish shots and I needed to crank out 32 panels in a reasonably quick time.

Looking back at these storyboards, it struck me as strange that I drew them in square panels, because that’s not obviously an aspect ratio used for film (unless you count square televisions from the 1950’s). I’m not sure why I drew them that way.

Despair_baord-vs-shot

Here’s a quick comparison between the storyboard panel and the finished shot. You can go back to the link and look at each panel and compare them to the shots and see that they really stayed true to the boards.

I recently storyboarded another film-short for Alex Prager again, so when that’s shot I’ll probably share that here.

 Be sure to follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram!

3 thoughts on “From Storyboards To Film

Leave a Reply

